This insight comes from psychotherapy research and initially does NOT mean something like „where there are people, there is always chaos“.

Rather, these research findings imply that human behavior and the behavior of communities have a very specific characteristic that can be described relatively precisely by the propositions of chaos theory and that occurs in many other systems, such as the global weather system.

From this insight, a few but quite fundamental insights about persons and communities can now be derived:

  • Human behavior is predictable and predictable only within a very small range.
  • Closely associated with health and good function are high variability and diversity of behavior and events. Healthy individuals and communities thus show a great diversity of ideas, emotions, and behaviors and a vital situational alternation between them.
  • The possibilities of controlling persons and communities and thereby influencing or even determining their ideas, emotions and behaviors for the future are extremely limited and depend on a very narrow framework.
  • The „chaotic“ characteristic of normal and healthy human behavior mentioned at the beginning shows regularities which are described in chaos theory. This provides a „metatheoretical“ framework of human behavior. From this framework, all processes, including processes of change in persons and communities, can be understood in principle and can also be influenced in a targeted manner.
  • Human intuition can be a tool to manage the complexity of human life in a constructive way and successfully.

Psychotherapy research – source of new knowledge

The described basics were the basis on which change processes in psychotherapy were and are fundamentally redesigned at the Institute for Synergetics and Psychotherapy Research of the Pracelsus Medical Private University Salzburg (directed by Univ.- Prof. DDr. Günter Schiepek).

In addition to the recording of the clients’/patients‘ personal resources and an individual („idiographic“) description of their own life system (by themselves), therapy monitoring in the form of the daily recording of their own state of mind in a web-based tool („Synergetic Navigation System, SNS“, see also www.ccsys.de) play a central role. The resulting time series are the subject of joint reflection between patient and therapist, as well as for reflection on the progress of psychotherapy in the context of collegial team meetings at the Institute.

Time series as the backbone of change

These time series are evaluated in the SNS with the methods of the theory of complex dynamic systems and contain valuable information about the progress of the therapy. In this way, new methods are developed with which short-term predictions of the further development as well as targeted „interventions“ could become possible.

Understanding and cognition through modeling

The combination of a variety of psychotherapeutic insights into systemic relationships and the described „metatheoretical“ framework led to the construction of a mathematical model of psychotherapy. We were and are guided by the hope and expectation that some so-called „common factors“ of psychotherapy and psychological hypotheses on motivation, emotion regulation, and information processing of patients/clients can be integrated together in a nonlinear model of human change dynamics. The comparison with measured time series from psychotherapy monitoring subsequently makes the validation of the model possible.

Gaming and intuition

Whatever such a model looks like – its dyamics cannot be „understood“ in a framework that we are used to from so-called „linear“ mechanisms and models of thinking that we usually use in a „conventional“ science. There we assume that we can understand the whole when we have understood the sum of the parts. The cause-effect relationships remain simple and clear (we say „linear“ and „moncausal“).

Human behavior, on the other hand, can – according to our basic assumption – neither be understood nor described in this way. However, complex and non-linear behavior can – according to our assumption – be „experienced“ in a playful and intuition-guided way. This conviction and a large number of corresponding inquiries from therapists in further education and training courses – have prompted us to make available a miniature version of our computer-based simulation model as a psychotherapeutic simulation game – we call it PsySim – for the combination of simulation in psychotherapy.

So we wish you a lot of joy and insight when experimenting with PsySim – even if this might be connected with the necessity to read a little deeper into the applied theory of nonlinear systems.

Diese Erkenntnis stammt aus der Psychotherapieforschung und bedeutet zunächst NICHT so etwas wie „wo Menschen sind, herrscht immer Chaos“.

Vielmehr implizieren diese Forschungsergebnisse, dass menschliches Verhalten und das Verhalten von Gemeinschaften eine ganz bestimmte Eigenschaft haben, die sich mit den Sätzen der Chaostheorie relativ genau beschreiben lassen und die auch in vielen anderen Systemen, wie z.B. dem globalen Wettersystem, auftreten.

Aus dieser Erkenntnis lassen sich nun einige wenige, aber ganz grundlegende Folgerungen über Menschen und Gemeinschaften ableiten:

  • Menschliches Verhalten ist nur innerhalb eines sehr kleinen Bereichs vorhersehbar und berechenbar.
  • Eng verbunden mit Gesundheit und guter Funktion sind eine hohe Variabilität und Vielfalt von Verhalten und Ereignissen. Gesunde Personen und Gemeinschaften zeigen also eine große Vielfalt an Ideen, Emotionen und Verhaltensweisen und einen vitalen situativen Wechsel zwischen ihnen.
  • Die Möglichkeiten, Personen und Gemeinschaften zu steuern und damit ihre Ideen, Emotionen und Verhaltensweisen für die Zukunft zu beeinflussen oder gar zu bestimmen, sind äußerst begrenzt und hängen von einem sehr engen Rahmen ab.
  • Die eingangs erwähnte „chaotische“ Charakteristik des normalen und gesunden menschlichen Verhaltens zeigt Regelmäßigkeiten, die in der Chaostheorie beschrieben werden. Diese liefert einen „metatheoretischen“ Rahmen des menschlichen Verhaltens. Von diesem Rahmen aus lassen sich alle Prozesse, auch Veränderungsprozesse von Personen und Gemeinschaften, prinzipiell verstehen und auch gezielt beeinflussen.
  • Die menschliche Intuition kann ein Werkzeug sein, um die Komplexität des menschlichen Lebens konstruktiv und erfolgreich zu managen.

Psychotherapieforschung – Quelle für neues Wissen

Die beschriebenen Grundlagen waren die Basis, auf welcher am Institut für Synergetik und Psychotherapieforschung der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg (Leitung Univ.- Prof. DDr. Günter Schiepek) Veränderungsprozesse in der Psychotherapie grundlegend neu gestaltet wurden und werden.

Neben der Erfassung der persönlichen Ressourcen der Klienten/Patienten und einer individuellen („idiographischen“) Beschreibung des eigenen Lebenssystems (durch sie selbst) spielt das Therapiemonitoring in Form der täglichen Erfassung des eigenen Befindens in einem webbasierten Tool („Synergetisches Navigationssystem, SNS“, siehe auch www.ccsys.de) eine zentrale Rolle. Die entstehenden Zeitreihen sind Gegenstand der gemeinsamen Reflexion zwischen Patient und Therapeut sowie der Reflexion über den Verlauf der Psychotherapie im Rahmen der kollegialen Teamsitzungen im Institut.

Zeitreihen als Rückgrat der Veränderung

Diese Zeitreihen werden im SNS mit den Methoden der Theorie komplexer dynamischer Systeme ausgewertet und enthalten wertvolle Informationen über den Verlauf der Therapie. Auf diese Weise werden neue Methoden entwickelt, mit denen kurzfristige Vorhersagen der weiteren Entwicklung sowie gezielte „Interventionen“ möglich werden könnten.

Verstehen und Erkennen durch Modellierung

Die Kombination verschiedener psychotherapeutischer Erkenntnisse über systemische Zusammenhänge und der beschriebene „metatheoretische“ Rahmen führten zur Konstruktion eines mathematischen Modells der Psychotherapie. Wir waren und sind von der Hoffnung und Erwartung geleitet, dass einige sogenannte „common factors“ der Psychotherapie und psychologische Hypothesen zur Motivation, Emotionsregulation und Informationsverarbeitung von Patienten/Klienten gemeinsam in ein nichtlineares Modell der menschlichen Veränderungsdynamik integriert werden können. Der Vergleich mit gemessenen Zeitreihen aus dem Psychotherapie-Monitoring ermöglicht anschließend die Validierung des Modells.

Spiel und Intuition

Wie auch immer ein solches Modell aussieht – seine Dyamik lässt sich nicht in einem Rahmen „verstehen“, den wir von sogenannten „linearen“ Mechanismen und Denkmodellen gewohnt sind, die wir üblicherweise in einer „konventionellen“ Wissenschaft verwenden. Dort gehen wir davon aus, dass wir das Ganze verstehen können, wenn wir die Summe der Teile verstanden haben. Die Ursache-Wirkungs-Beziehungen bleiben einfach und klar (wir sagen „linear“ und „monokausal“).

Menschliches Verhalten hingegen kann – so unsere Grundannahme – so weder verstanden noch beschrieben werden. Komplexes und nicht-lineares Verhalten hingegen kann – so unsere Annahme – spielerisch und intuitiv „erfahren“ werden. Diese Überzeugung und eine Vielzahl entsprechender Anfragen von Therapeuten in Fort- und Weiterbildungen – haben uns veranlasst, eine Miniaturversion unseres computerbasierten Simulationsmodells als psychotherapeutisches Planspiel – wir nennen es PsySim – für die Verbindung von Simulation in der Psychotherapie zur Verfügung zu stellen.

So wünschen wir Ihnen viel Freude und Einsicht beim Experimentieren mit PsySim – auch wenn dies vielleicht mit der Notwendigkeit verbunden ist, sich etwas tiefer in die angewandte Theorie nichtlinearer Systeme einzulesen.